Taiwan’s Chun An Yu at 2020 US Open in Mamaroneck, New York

Chun An Yu, 22, also known as Kevin Yu, is the sole representative of Taiwan in the 2020 United States Open Championship. Including the Taiwanese golfer, 144 players will compete in the 120th edition of the annual open national championship of golf in the U.S.

This marked the third consecutive qualification of Yu for the U.S. Open. Hailing from Taipei, Taiwan, he is currently a fifth-year senior in the Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona, USA.

In 2014, Yu won individual bronze and team gold at the 17th Asian Games in Incheon, South Korea. In 2019, he won the Australian Master of the Amateurs at the Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Australia.

Yu will do the 2020 U.S. Open with Arizona State University men’s golf coach Matt Thurmon as his caddie. The Taiwanese golfer is the youngest of seven Sun Devils teeing off in the tournament.

Taiwan has yet to have a U.S. Open champion. The annual golf competition was established in 1895.


The 2020 U.S. Open will take place at the Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York, USA from September 17–20, 2020. The last time the tournament was held there was in 2006 when Geoff Ogilvy, 43, of Australia won with a score of 5 over par.

Including Taiwan and the U.S., 27 countries from six continents are represented. The others are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile,  Colombia, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden and Thailand.

Due to the new coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the 144-player field consists entirely of exempt players. Professional golfers Daniel Chopra, 46, of Sweden and Anthony Kang, 47, of South Korea will co-host the golf tournament with former professional cricketer Jason de la Peña, 47, of England live on FOX Sports 2 from September 18-21, 2020.

The U.S. Open champions in the past five years were from the U.S. Jordan Spieth, 27, and Dustin “DJ” Johnson, 36, won in 2015 and 2016, respectively, Brooks Koepka, 30, won in 2017 and in 2018 and Gary Woodland, 36, won in 2019.

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.