‘Suyo’ by Reon is PhilPop Songwriting Festival 2020 finalist from Visayas


Suyo” by Filipino indie music duo Reon is one of the PhilPop Songwriting Festival 2020 finalists from Visayas. The announcement was made through an online media presentation on August 24, 2020.

Reon is a duo composed of singer-songwriter and producer Noah Glynn Alejandre and singer-songwriter Reanne Julia Borela. Formed in 2020, the duo focuses on making bedroom pop music and embraces its simplicity and rawness of its tracks by telling narratives of different experiences which captures the ears of many.

The name of the duo is written 麗音 in Kanji. 麗 means beautiful while 音 means sound.

Upon exploring different genres to delve in to, Reon identifies itself as distinct with its take on different genres on each of its releases. The duo has been releasing songs since January 6, 2020 with its debut single “Off My Mind.”

Alejandre and Borela then released their fifth and sixth singles titled “Better Off Without You” and “I Really Like You,” respectively, which collectively gathered almost two hundred thousand streams on Spotify. Including their song “Suyo,” there are six PhilPop Songwriting Festival 2020 finalists from the Visayas-Mindanao cluster.


  • Ayaw Na Lang” by Jerika Teodorico of Cebu City, Cebu
  • Hinungdan” by Michael Catarina of Cebu City, Cebu
  • Suyo” by Noah Alejandre and Reanne Borela of Ormoc City, Leyte


  • Akong Bililhon” by John Cadeliña of Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur
  • Kasadya” by Christian Chiu of Corandal City, South Cotabato
  • Pahuway” by Sherwin Fugoso of Jabonga, Agusan del Norte

PhilPop is currently wrapping up its adjudication process for the remaining clusters namely, North Luzon, South Luzon and Metro Manila. The finalists representing the remaining regions will be announced in September 2020.

PhilPop Songwriting Festival chair Ryan Cayabyab heads the selection committee. The committee included PhilPop executive director Dinah A. Remolacio, PhilPop Musicfest Foundation president Victorico P. Vargas, board member Noel Cabangon and lead adjudicators Jungee Marcelo and Trina Belamide, Warner Music Philippines managing director Ian MonsodMinPop Musicfest director Jeremy Sarmiento and Kadasig founder Jude Gitamondoc.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.