‘Kasadya’ by XT on Sax is PhilPop Songwriting Festival 2020 finalist from Mindanao


Kasadya” by Christian “XT on Sax” Chiu is one of the PhilPop Songwriting Festival 2020 finalists from Mindanao. The announcement was made through an online media presentation on August 24, 2020.

XT on Sax is the saxophonist of the band Matcha, which has released two singles this year. He spearheaded the Ilonggo Pop movement that started in Koronadal City, South Cotabato, Philippines and debuted the album of the same name on December 21, 2019.

Two of the songs in the “Ilonggo Pop” album were written by XT on Sax namely “Hinambalan” featuring EJ Parsacala and “Buy-An” featuring Visayas Music Awards champion Ferdinand Aragon and Mindanao Pop Music Festival 2020 champion Mau Ria.

In the album, XT on Sax contributed to the works of Don Flores and NatNat on their songs “Amo Gid Na Ya” and “Nonoy sa Alunan, respectively. The saxophonist appeared as a guest artist in the Philippines’ first all-sax concert “S.I.L.A (Saxophone Idols Live in Action” in 2018 at Music Museum in San Juan, Metro Manila, Philippines and in 2019 at Resorts World Manila in Pasay City, Metro Manila together with the other saxophonists Archie Lacorte, JB Javelosa, SaxSerenade, Nicole Tejedor and Josh Espinosa.

Recently, XT on Sax’s version of “Nobela” garnered over 1.6 million  Spotify streams. It was sung by Jay-ar Vaño.

Including “Kasadya” by “XT on Sax,” there are six PhilPop Songwriting Festival 2020 finalists from the Visayas-Mindanao cluster. In no particular order, the finalists from Visayas and Mindanao are:


  • Ayaw Na Lang” by Jerika Teodorico of Cebu City, Cebu
  • Hinungdan” by Michael Catarina of Cebu City, Cebu
  • Suyo” by Noah Alejandre and Reanne Borela of Ormoc City, Leyte


  • Akong Bililhon” by John Cadeliña of Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur
  • Kasadya” by Christian Chiu of Corandal City, South Cotabato
  • Pahuway” by Sherwin Fugoso of Jabonga, Agusan del Norte

PhilPop is currently wrapping up its adjudication process for the remaining clusters namely, North Luzon, South Luzon and Metro Manila. The finalists representing the remaining regions will be announced in September 2020.

PhilPop Songwriting Festival chair Ryan Cayabyab heads the selection committee. The committee included PhilPop executive director Dinah A. Remolacio, PhilPop Musicfest Foundation president Victorico P. Vargas, board member Noel Cabangon and lead adjudicators Jungee Marcelo and Trina Belamide, Warner Music Philippines managing director Ian MonsodMinPop Musicfest director Jeremy Sarmiento and Kadasig founder Jude Gitamondoc.

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.